Ministerial screening: Lawan says Akpabio, Akume five other ex-senators should ‘take a bow’

Senate President Ahmed Lawan says all seven former senators, who have been nominated for ministerial appointment will not be questioned but allowed to “take a bow”.

Lawan said this at the ongoing ministerial screening at the Senate on Wednesday.
The former senators include Godswill Akpabio, Gbemisola Saraki, Hadi Sirika, George Akume, Olorunnimbe Mamora, Chris Ngige and Tayo Alasoadura.
A serving House of Representatives member, Emeka Nwajuiba, also falls into the category of those that will be allowed to “take a bow”.
The Senate President said the move was part of the longstanding tradition of the Senate that all former lawmakers nominated for appointments are given automatic endorsement.
Lawan, who has been accused of being a lackey of President Muhammadu Buhari, however, warned that the National Assembly would not be subservient to the executive arm of government and advised the incoming ministers to always make themselves available when needed.
Akpabio and Akume were asked to “take a bow” and leave in when they appeared for screening.
Attempts by Akwa Ibom North-East lawmaker, Senator Albert Bassey, to make a comment on Akpabio’s nomination were rejected by the Senate President.
Source: Punchng

No comments:

Post a Comment